Why only limited applications showing in Third Part Apps and lots in Global Inventory

Hi,

I hope you can help, I am relatively new to patch management and use the tools to help manage a small number of business of computers.

We have approx. 17 devices registered on the platform.

When I view the ‘Third Party Applications’ we do not see many applications, for example zoom, Microsoft Visual Studio.

If we view the Global Inventory then we can see many applications, but these never show up on the ‘Third Party Applications’ area where we can ‘patch’ them.

Looking into third party applications I believe that many on the Global Inventory list are supported.

So the question is:

1. Why do we not see the global inventory items in the third party applications. Should we have some additional configuration that allows us to see these and patch.
  2. Software application that do exist in the Global Inventory do we need to generate a specific patch strategy. For example we have webex Meetings, I can see we have serval different versions in theory this looks like it should be a third party application.

Thank you for you help in advance.

Phil

Hi

Perhaps if you have a soe or standard software list it you may be able to simply use a powershell script procedure and install chocolatey to all machines.
Then push out the installers and have the -force or - update switches enabled, then schedule that procedure to run as you want or manually when needed.

Not as integrated as 3rd party patch management, but it just works.

mcfproservices.

Thanks mcfproservices for the response.

It will be still technical interesting to find out why the third party application list is very short.

Phil

I have the same issue, any word on why? I only have Zoom, JRE and a couple other apps show, I use to have all kinds, the list is very sparse now

Agreed. Something is amiss here.
On a business PC running win 10, the only 3rd party app I see is 7-zip.