Is Comodo One HIPAA compliant?

I am doing some research on whether or not Comodo One MSP software is HIPAA compliant. Any other info on MSP compliancy with HIPAA or good guides to become compliant are welcomed.

That is a very complicated question. I’m generalizing so please don’t try to pick this apart for flaws and FYI, I’m not a lawyer, I’m not trying to interpret laws and give you advice in a legal capacity. Dealing with doctors means you have to deal with HIPAA, HITECH, the new Omnibus rule and whatever state level regulations you might have. You as a BA to your doctor’s office have a responsibility to ensure that you are compliant with all regulations that a doctor must comply with. I recommend that you look at your policies and procedures to determine if you are accessing ePHI in a manner that is HIPAA compliant. If you aren’t following the regs it doesn’t matter whether or not the tool is compliant. However assuming you have covered your bases I think it is a fair question. It comes down to information access: Does the One Platform have access to ePHI? The answer is maybe. If you are using the Acronis backup the answer is yes. Valkyrie, probably. The RMM and remote access tools are a definite maybe.

I would boil it down into a couple of questions:

1. Do any of the Comodo agents have the capacity to take data off of these machines, if so is it encrypted and is there an audit trail?
  2. Is the Remote viewer encrypted (covering data in transit rules)? Is there or will there be an audit trail for accessing machines?
  3. If it is determined that Comodo One platform has the potential to “create, maintain, transfer or receive” of PHI then there should be a process put in place to sign a BA agreement. Does that process exist?

Josh

In Germany we have a document / contract provided by the BSI . We sign that for our customers / clients. But good to know if c1 is HIPAA safe.

best

Michael

I would like a staff member’s response too

Hi @jtlogic