Open Source EDR > Questions

Hi, I am a former Endpoint Manager customer but left since it was just too complex.
My environment is a small combined office home (SOHO) network and I might qualify as MSP and I have about 50 clients, phones, tablets, laptops, desktops and a couple of servers to protect.

I am curious as to what the new OS EDR can offer and I would like to get a better explanation and a low tech worded one since I honestly do not understand a lot of the sales pitch on the main site.

1. What is the cost, given what I stated above?
  2. Can I deploy this on both servers and workstations - android, ios, windows, linux?
  3. What is required in regards to my firewall to be able to manage this centrally?
  4. Where are the management servers located? I am in the EU and very much in to applying GDPR on everything I use. Bit of a wannabe security consultant.
1 Like

You have two options

1. Setup EDR yourself using ELK etc and manage it…
  2. Use the Xcitium MSSP platform (where everything is taken care of and all you have to do is click the deploy button)

If you want to run this as a business, then my recommendation would be to use your time for something better than messing around with ELK and managing source code and go with Xcitium MSSP platform.

The whole world is currently going towards offering MDR to their customers…all the MSPs I talk to is gearing up to offer MDR (Managed Detection Response) as a service to their customer base.
They are charging anything between $20-$40 per endpoint per month for this service.
Traditionally the costs of providing MDR has been around $12-$15…just in licenses…never mind human resource cost on top…
However, With Xcitium MSSP your buy price is around $3.25 per endpoint per month!
So now you can start selling full blown MDR service to your customers and charge $30 per month (or even $20) and only pay $3.25 to Xcitium keeping almost 90% of the profit!
This in my book, as a business owner, becomes a no brainer!